h1

What a night! Brayan Adams Live in Oxford

July 7, 2009

Wow, I think I must be the luckiest person alive at the moment!

Quite a while ago, I heard Bryan Adams (www.bryanadams.com) was coming to perform an unplugged gig in Oxford – I was SO excited as having been introduced to his music with the song “Everything I do I do it for you” way back in 1991 and in my influential early teenage years I became a huge fan and I have Bryan Adams songs as a soundtrack to so many memories.  However my excitement was squashed when I realised that having only recently set up Chilli Promotional Products (www.chillipromotions.co.uk) I really couldn’t afford the tickets, and sadly my husband was less keen on me so out came the CD’s – I’d just have to settle for this.

BUT, yesterday I logged into my Twitter account (www.twitter.com/chillipromotion) just after 4pm to see a post from @106jackfm (www.twitter.com/106jackfm) offering a pair of tickets to the first person to message them through their Twitter account – of course I sent them a message immediately, not expecting anything, but still the butterflies in my stomach were working twenty to the dozen as I kept pressing F5 to refresh the screen and then …. to my enormous shock …. I really couldn’t believe it but a message popped up saying “Congratulations, they’re yours”!!

My mind went into overdrive as the show started at 7pm at the New Theatre in Oxford (www.newtheatreoxford.org.uk)  and I need to get to the Jack FM studios in Oxford to collect the tickets on the way!  A couple of quick calls confirmed hubby was unable to make it but my sister was definitely up for it so a mad rush to get ready and off we went. 

Standing in the queue outside we started to wonder what it was going to be like, but then we went in and found our seats… they were fantastic – 5th row, less than 10m from the stage and almost dead central – WOW!  I cant believe how close we were.

The performance was incredible!  With a guitar (or 2) and Gary Bright, Bryan’s music both old and new was brought to life in the intimate setting of the New Theatre Oxford.  The crowd were very vocal last night and Bryan interacted with so many people helping us all to feel a real part of the show.  I sat quietly with my sister, watching the old and the young dancing along with various senses of rhythm (!!) while Bryan Adams sang those songs that we know so well – Run to You, Heaven, Can’t Stop This Thing We Started, The Only Thing That Looks Good On Me, Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman and soooo many more.  I couldn’t quite believe that just a few hours ago I had a quiet evening and an early night planned!

Shortly after Summer of ’69, Bryan Adams went off stage, to a huge standing ovation, so he came back for an encore, and sang a few more songs. When he’d finished Gary left and we thought it really was the end but a lady in the front row threw some flowers on stage – so Bryan said he thought that deserved another song – what did she want him to sing and off he went again, and then one more after yet another standing ovation!

It really was a fantastic night, Bryan Adams is a true singer songwriter genius and I can’t believe how much better he sounded live J.

Thank you once again to Jack FM for this incredible opportunity.

One comment

  1. Nice article. It was nice going through your blog. Enjoyed it very much.



Leave a comment